Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

25 Aug

Have you ever tried the INCREDIBLE banana chocolate chip coffee cake at Starbucks? It’s my favorite Starbucks pastry (I worked there in college so I’ve pretty much tried them all) and the inspiration for these banana muffins. They are easy to make (measuring is barely necessary) and totally delicious.

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins:

  • 3 ripe bananas (the blacker the better)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 stick butter (softened)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. almond extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Bake Time- 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees

Begin by mixing wet ingredients- Softened butter, bananas, eggs, sugar, almond extract. The almond will add a bit of a nutty flavor to your muffins. The mixture will be lumpy.

Gradually add the dry ingredients to the mix. Ideally you should combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl first but usually I am too lazy to do that (I hate doing dishes). Do not over-mix batter. This is usually around the time that I stick a finger in to taste…YUM.

Add the chocolate chips to batter- be generous, I always say the more chocolate the better. I usually like to use mini chocolate chips but I was out of them this time.

Using a small measuring cup, scoop the batter into a greased 12 cup muffin tin. There should be enough batter for each one to be about 3/4 of the way full.

Bake muffins at 350 for about 15-20 minutes or until they begin to brown around the edges.

Remove from pan when cool. I like to eat mine sliced in half with some butter, but they are equally delicious plain. I dare you to eat just one.

2 Responses to “Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins”

  1. Jenine August 25, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    adding this to my weekly blog reads… wishing this could involve taste-testing also. 🙂

  2. Melissa August 26, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I second that.

Leave a Reply

