Baked Mac&Cheese

27 Aug

I am obsessed with cheese. There isn’t a cheese in this world that I do not like. Cottage cheese, goat cheese, blue cheese…I love them all. My boyfriend Phil is a bit more picky with his cheeses…which is why I make this fairly straightforward but utterly DELICIOUS baked mac&cheese. Macaroni also happens to be Phil’s favorite, so I make this for his birthday every year. In this recipe I use cheddar and parmesan.

Baked Mac&Cheese:

  • 1 Box Elbow Macaroni
  • 1 Block Cheddar
  • 2 Cups Milk
  • 3 Tbsp Butter
  • 3 Tbsp Flour
  • 3/4 Cup Grated Parmesan
  • Paprika
  • Garlic Powder
  • Black Pepper
  • Sea Salt
  • Parmesan Breadcrumbs

Cook pasta as directed on the box. While the water is boiling chop or grate the cheddar cheese- I usually chop it into pieces because I find cheese graters annoying and always end up slicing my knuckles (ouch). The secret to this macaroni is that I make a thick creamy cheese sauce to put on the noodles before I bake them. To do this first combine butter, flour, and spices in a medium saucepan and whisk together until combined. I never measure the spices, and its really a matter of what you prefer- if you want a little kick be generous with the paprika. Next add milk and whisk for several minutes until the milk is warm. Add the parmesan cheese and whisk, then gradually add the cheddar. Use enough cheese so that the sauce thickens and turns a cheesy orange color.

The sauce and pasta should finish close to the same time. Drain the past and pour the pasta and sauce into a casserole dish. Mix together until all of the pasta is coated in cheese. Go ahead and taste a bite at this point, I always do because I have no willpower.

Try to resist eating the entire pan and sprinkle the top with the remaining cheddar cheese. Finish with parmesan bread crumbs (Progresso brand-way better than the regular kind) and make sure there is plenty of cheese around the edges.

Bake for about 10-15 minutes uncovered at 350 degrees, or until the cheese is melted and bubbly. The inside should still be moist and creamy. Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Baked Mac&Cheese”

  1. Francine August 27, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    OMG, Kait… This sounds and looks delicious! (Love the pics!) I might actually try making it…and make KC try eating it… Although I doubt it would turn out anywhere nearly as good as yours…

  2. Bomb August 27, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    This blog is my new favorite thing in life. I am making this ASAP.

  3. Melissa August 31, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    I didn’t even know this was up! Never met a cheese I don’t like either, guuurl. Looks SO good.

  4. Mitzi September 8, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    Made this for Labor Day & it was a huge hit! I doubled the recipe and still had no leftovers!

Leave a Reply

