Fish Tacos with Guacamole and Pineapple Mango Salsa

18 Sep

This is one of my favorite go-to healthy dinners. I’ve always loved tacos but  I try not to eat a lot of beef so I started experimenting with different fish taco recipes. After several attempts I have finally found my perfect fish taco and here it is.

Fish Tacos:

  • 2-3 Talapia Fillets
  • Lime
  • Minced Garlic
  • Garlic Salt
  • Flour Tortillas

Guacamole:

  • Ripe Avocado
  • Tomato
  • Chopped Onion
  • Cilantro
  • Crushed Red Pepper
  • Garlic Salt
  • Lime

Pineapple Mango Salsa:

  • 1 Can Crushed Pineapple
  • 1 Mango
  • 1 Red Onion
  • Cilantro
  • Crushed Red Pepper
  • Lime

Pineapple Mango Salsa:

I always make the salsa in advance because it tastes better after the flavors have had time to sit and mix together. First combine pineapple and diced mango. You can use fresh pineapple but I like having extra juice from the can, plus cutting fresh pineapple is more work than I care to do. There should be more pineapple than mango.

Next, add diced red onion. I am not a huge onion fan so I don’t add a ton, just enough to add a little crunch. (And to make your eyes water profusely…)

Next season with cilantro and crushed red pepper. If you want a spicier salsa feel free to be heavy handed with the red pepper. Finally add lime juice.

Refrigerate Until Serving

Guacamole:

There are a million ways to make guacamole, and its pretty hard to mess up. I start with (of course) avocado.

Next add diced tomatoes.

Use a fork to blend the ingredients together until the avocado is smooth and creamy.

Finally add cilantro, crushed red pepper, garlic salt, and lime. I usually chop up some roasted red pepper to add in but I was all out today.

Refrigerate Until Serving

Tacos:

Cut the talapia fillets into bite size pieces and saute over medium heat with minced garlic, garlic salt, and lime juice for 5-7 minutes.

The fish is done when it is white throughout and flakes easily.

Fill flour tortillas (I used whole wheat tortillas) with the fish. Top with salsa and guacamole. Fold in half, serve with your favorite side and enjoy!

One Response to “Fish Tacos with Guacamole and Pineapple Mango Salsa”

  1. Melissa September 18, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    WANT RIGHT NOW.

Leave a Reply

