Cookie Monster Cupcakes

18 Oct

My nephew Tyler’s first birthday party was today and I offered to bring cupcakes. I had seen cupcakes made to look like the Cookie Monster before, but most of the time they were a hot mess. I decided to give it a try myself.

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes:

  • One Box Yellow Cake Mix
  • Oil
  • Water
  • Eggs
  • Mini Chocolate Chips

Cookie Monster Face:

  • Vanilla/White Frosting
  • Blue Food Coloring
  • Food Color Spray
  • Toothpick
  • White Candy Melts (like this)
  • Chocolate Chips
  • Mini Chocolate Chip Cookies

I decided to do chocolate chip cupcakes to go along with the whole cookie theme. To do this I started by simply following the instructions on a yellow box cake.

I mixed all of the ingredients together and then added 3/4 cup of mini chocolate chips. I prefer mini because they don’t sink to the bottom like the regular chocolate chips sometimes do. They are also ideal for babies because there is no chance of choking.

When the chips were mixed in I began scooping the batter into a lined muffin tray. The box says to fill them 2/3 of the way, but disregard that for this recipe. I filled them 3/4 of the way full so the cupcakes would rise above the tray to form the heads of the Cookie Monsters. In retrospect I think they could have been filled even higher. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

While the cupcakes were in the oven I started making the Cookie Monster’s eyes. I had purchased white candy melts (available at craft stores like AC Moore or Micheal’s) and was using them as the whites of the eyes. I used regular sized chocolate chips (not mini) as the pupils, and attached them with frosting. After making enough for each cupcake to have two eyes I put them in the fridge to cool and set.

The cupcakes should be nice and golden brown on the top when they are done. Let them cool completely before frosting.

There are many different approaches to making the Cookie Monster’s blue fur. I have seen sprinkles and coconut used, but neither seemed ideal for a 1 year old. I ended up settling on blue frosting for these. I started by dying vanilla frosting a light blue shade.

I then roughly frosted the cupcakes, the more frosting the better.

Next I used a toothpick to add a fur-like texture to the frosting. This is where having extra frosting comes in handy. The more frosting, the easier it is to make it look like fur.

Not bad right? It still wasn’t blue enough though, so I used food color spray to airbrush the cupcakes a more vibrant hue. This also added some depth to the frosting, it had a slightly two toned look.

Next came what was by far the most difficult step-assembly. I started by cutting a mouth-like shape in the cupcake. It ended up looking like Audrey II from Little Shop of Horrors (FEED ME!)

Then  it was time to stick the cookies in. This was harder than I expected. I used soft baked cookies (because they are delicious) but they were very hard to handle. I cut them in half and stuck them in the gap of the cupcake, but it was hard not to smush them. I might try Famous Amos next time.

Finally I added the eyes. Remember that the Cookie Monster is kind of googly-eyed, so they should be sort of off. Also, try to make the eyes stand up a bit so he doesn’t look too flat faced.

Now, do that about a dozen more times and you will have a whole tray of Cookie Monsters staring up at you. Oh, and for the record my nephew loved them. He literally ate every last crumb- so adorable.

2 Responses to “Cookie Monster Cupcakes”

  1. Melissa October 18, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    What a lucky little nephew.

  2. http://globalmoxie.com/ May 6, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering
    if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you prevent it, any
    plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

