Caramel Fudge Brownies

5 Dec

Can you tell I like chocolate? I’m pretty sure I eat something chocolate every single day. I think most women have a little ‘chocoholic’ in them, which is why I made these scrumptious caramel fudge brownies for a recent girls day in with my favorite ladies.

Caramel Fudge Brownies:

  • 1 box chocolate CAKE mix (not brownie mix)
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cups evaporated milk
  • 35 Kraft caramels
  • 3/4 cups chocolate chips (milk or semisweet)

I’m not going to lie to you- unwrapping those stupid individually wrapped caramels is a supreme pain in the ass. Trust me though, it is worth it!

 

To make these brownies first mix together cake mix, oil, egg, and 1/3 cup evaporated milk.

When mixed the batter will be quite thick and should look like this:

Scoop half of the batter into a greased baking pan (13×9 or similar size) and spread into a thin even layer. I find that using wax paper is the easiest way since the batter is so sticky.

Bake for 13 minutes at 350 degrees.

While the first layer is baking you should start melting the caramels. In a small sauce pan combine the caramels and remaining 1/3 cup of evaporated milk at medium heat. Stir until smooth. When the brownies are done baking immediately remove from the oven and sprinkle with chocolate chips.

Pour the caramel over the chocolate chips- this is where things get really decadent.

Cover the caramel using the remaining brownie batter by heaping teaspoon. There will be some gaps, but this is fine.

Bake again at 350 degrees, this time for 20-25 minutes. The top layer of brownie should rise and spread, filling in any gaps.

Yum! Allow the brownies to cool completely before cutting into squares. Pour yourself a large glass of milk and enjoy!

4 Responses to “Caramel Fudge Brownies”

  1. jenunabelle December 6, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    so delicious!

  2. Melissa December 6, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Yum!

  3. Mitzi January 7, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    These came together easier than I thought and they were delicious. Sometimes I over bake brownies because the middle takes too long to cook through but by baking the bottom half 1st, these came out perfect and stayed soft.

    If you are like my family and can’t wait for them to cool completely, I can vouch that they are great warm. They just don’t cut as neatly.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Random Snow Day Cookies « - December 17, 2010

    […] the other half I decided to try making a caramel frosting using extra leftover caramels from my Caramel Fudge Brownies which turned out to be a VERY good decision. Very good indeed. It was pretty easy- I just melted a […]

Leave a Reply

