Decorating for Less: Paper Snowflakes

5 Dec

I’m cheap. Well…according to my boyfriend I’m frugalicious. I just do not like spending money on things that I don’t absolutely need, especially if I can easily make something similar. I’m always way more excited and proud of myself when I make things rather than buying them anyway. This is why every year when the holidays roll around I break out the scissors and cover my walls with handmade paper snowflakes.

Most people have probably made some sort of paper snowflake back in the elementary school days, but the snowflakes I make are a little more extreme. The trick is folding them into a very small triangle and cutting a lot out of them. The first step is folding a regular piece of printer paper diagonally.

There will be an extra strip of paper on one side, use your scissors to trim this off, leaving an even triangle.

Fold the triangle in half

And fold it in half again

Once again you will have a little extra overhang at the end of your triangle. Trim it off. This will leave you with a small, thick paper triangle.

Using your scissors cut a shape in the top of the triangle. This will make the outline of your snowflakes.Then cut small shapes and holes out of your snowflake. Be very careful not to cut all the way across, or half of your snowflake will be cut off.The more shapes you cut out the more elaborate it will look once unfolded.

Slowly and carefully unfold to reveal the shape of your snowflake.

Pretty cool, huh? I’m a little obsessed with making these, I make about 30 each year. Use scotch tape to tape the snowflakes to your walls- they look especially nice on a bold colored wall. So, using nothing but paper and tape you can transform your home into a snow-covered winter wonderland.

3 Responses to “Decorating for Less: Paper Snowflakes”

  1. kmosch December 5, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    WHYYYY don’t mine turn out like this?!?! ill just have to practice more i suppose….

    • koothoot December 5, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

      It’s like pancakes- the first few might be kind of ugly, but the more you make the better they look.

  2. Nicole December 5, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    Again, you manage to make decorating look easy! Fabulous idea!

Leave a Reply

