Custom Photo Collages

5 Feb

This year for Christmas I decided to make my parents a present. I wanted to do something with family photos, but decided against a scrapbook because I wanted it to be something they could hang up and show people regularly. I ended up making them a custom photo collage, arranging years worth of family photos into the word strang (our last name). It turned out really cute so I thought I would share it with you guys.

The first step is to gather all the photos you want to use. I decided to use only photos of my immediate family because my extended family is VERY VERY large and if I started including more people it would have gotten very out of hand. A  lot of the photos I had to sneak out of my parent’s house without them finding out. Realistically my dad would never have a clue but my mom notices everything. Here are some of my favorites.

My parents on their wedding day

Apparently as a baby I loved clearing out the kitchen cabinets. My poor mom.

On the other hand she’s the one responsible for giving me these crooked bangs so maybe she deserved it.

My mom, sister and I in Paris

My adorable nephews

When gathering photos remember that you will need 4-6 photos per letter and that you should have some horizontal and some vertical.  To do this project I used Adobe Photoshop to edit, adjust, and arrange all the photos that I wanted to use. When using older photos that you have scanned it’s important to adjust the levels, contrast, brightness, etc or else they could end up looking really dull and low quality. No one wants a blurry grayish photo hanging up on their walls.

Much better, right?

Next I chose the font I wanted to use (Arial Black works well) and laid out my photos to fit into the letters. It’s almost like doing a jigsaw puzzle. Inevitably there were a few that didn’t fit in but that’s fine, I had extras. In the end it looked really clean and professional which is exactly what I wanted.

Finally I used an online program to have the project printed, matted, and framed. I’m really happy with how it turned out and my parents loved it. I’m thinking of trying to sell them at craft/vendor shows so people can order their own custom photo collages. I have lots of ideas other than just last names too, like family, friends, smile, or a a collage using wedding photos that says i do. I also made my bff Jenine one that says LIFE. If you are interested in ordering a custom photo collage feel free to email me at kaitlyn.strang@gmail.com and we can discuss pricing.

One Response to “Custom Photo Collages”

  1. Jenine February 5, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    I love my LIFE picture collage!

Leave a Reply

