Valentines Candy #1- Peanut Butter Balls

10 Feb

A friend of mine is throwing a Valentines party this Saturday and I offered to make and bring an assortment of homemade candies. I’m not sure what prompted me to do this since I have very little candy making experience but I figured I could come up with some tasty treats. My first idea was peanut butter balls. I have made them before (although only sloppy versions that never leave my house) and my boyfriend loves them. They’re pretty much homemade Reese’s so I’m banking on the fact that most people REALLY like Reese’s so they should like these too.

Peanut Butter Balls

  • 2 cups Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 2 Cups Powdered Sugar
  • 9 oz Semisweet Chocolate
  • 2 Tbsp shortening

To make these first microwave the peanut butter for about one minute.

Next gradually add and mix powdered sugar.

Once thoroughly mixed refrigerate for at least half an hour and then roll into small balls. Lay the candies on a wax paper lined tray and freeze for another hour. In the meantime melt chocolate and shortening in a double boiler. When the peanut butter hardens use a fork or candy stick to dip the peanut butter into chocolate.

You will need to work quickly because the peanut butter tends to melt. I left the top exposed so people would know what kind of candy it is (since I’m making a variety).

Using extra peanut butter as glue, stick M&Ms on top to cover the hole left from the stick. They will also make them look a lot cuter and less monochromatic.

Store in the freezer until serving and enjoy!

2 Responses to “Valentines Candy #1- Peanut Butter Balls”

  1. Melissa February 10, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    YAY! Can’t wait!

  2. Jenine February 11, 2011 at 4:02 am #

    yummers!

Leave a Reply

