Handpainted Mugs

13 Mar

I recently read about a product called Pebeo Porcelaine 150 Paint Markers. They’re basically paint pens that you can use to write on ceramics. They are non toxic, dishwasher safe, and permanently set just by baking them in the oven. I decided to buy some mugs and start decorating.

First I grabbed my sketchbook and started doodling. I came up with about 25 design ideas, some much better than others. I also ordered 12 mugs online, but I was far too impatient to wait for them so I went out and bought 2 to try out in the meantime. At $1.40 a pop they were very affordable. While I was out I also picked up the paint pens at Michael’s. Then I chose two of my favorite designs and got to work.

This project was not without flaws. Two of the markers I got were defective (the paint oozed out of the sides rather than the pen tip) which I learned from reading online reviews is a fairly common issue. I was still able to get a decent product however.

Once decorated, you have to let the mugs air-dry for 24 hours then bake them. I made one Peacock Mug and one A Spot of Tea Mug (sold).

Once finished these bad boys are ready to use. I’m planning to make at least a dozen more soon, check out my Etsy shop for updates!

3 Responses to “Handpainted Mugs”

  1. kmosch March 13, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    WANT.

  2. Jill March 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Kait! Sophomore year in college I started stealing mugs from the dining hall and drawing on them with colored Sharpies… but you’re way works way better (and looks way better too). The Sharpie rubbed off when you touched it, so my solution was just to not let anyone touch any of the mugs. Ha!

  3. Kelli October 17, 2011 at 4:22 am #

    Hiiii! Just found you via pinterest! I ADORE these mugs! what a brilliant idea and you illustrate them so well! 😀

Leave a Reply

