Springtime Lemon Lime Cupcakes

3 Apr

My friend Jenine had a birthday recently, so I decided to make cupcakes. Jenine really loves lemon (you should see how many wedges she squeezes into her water) so I wanted to come up with a bright, citric, lemon-based cupcake for her. The result was these lemon lime cupcakes with a lemon curd filling and lemon frosting. HOLY LEMON!

Springtime Lemon Lime Cupcakes

  • 3 Large Eggs (room temperature)
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter (room temperature)
  • 1 Tablespoon Lemon Zest
  • 1 Table Spoon Lime Zest
  • 1/4 cup Lemon or Lime Juice
  • 1/4 Cup Milk
  • 1 1/2 Cups Flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 cup Lemon Curd

Makes A Dozen Cupcakes

I have to be honest here- these cupcakes are no joke. If you are someone who doesn’t generally enjoy citrus based desserts (lemon meringue pie, key lime pie, lemon bars, lemon cookies, etc.) you should probably just skip over this recipe entirely. I started this recipe by zesting 2 lemons and 2 limes. I personally hate zesting, but it had to be done

Next I began making the batter by beating together the eggs and sugar in an electric mixer for about two minutes. Next I added butter, lemon/lime juice, and zest then mixed it on medium speed for another two minutes. Once the ingredients were thoroughly mixed I gradually added the flour, baking powder, and salt (about a half a cup at a time) mixing constantly.

At this point you can feel free to grab a finger-ful and decide if you want to add more lemon, you know you want a taste anyway. Pour the batter into paper lined muffin trays and bake at 350 degrees for 18-20 minutes. When the cupcakes are done baking and have cooled it’s time to fill them with lemon curd. I decided to take the lazy way out and buy pre-made lemon curd, but if you’re feeling ambitious you can always make your own. I used a squeeze bottle to inject the filling, you can get one at AC Moore or any candy supply store.

Now its time for frosting! I decided to make lemon frosting using a basic vanilla frosting recipe plus lemon juice and some of the leftover lemon curd. I also added yellow food color to make them bright and spring-y. Sorry no pics for this step, It was somewhat of an experiment so I’ll post more on that later.

Until this I hadn’t used fondant before and I’ve had no cake decorating training whatsoever. However, I got it in my head that I wanted to make fondant daisies to top these cupcakes. Jenine was planning to wear a fun daisy ring and I freakishly wanted the cupcakes to match (hello OCD, so nice to see you again). Anyway I found pre-made fondant at AC Moore and decided to give it a whirl. The box said it was pre-rolled, but that was a lie so I ended up rolling it out myself and then using a daisy shaped cookie cutter to make flowers.

I also bought Easter M&M’s to serve as the center of the daisies and they worked great. I just pressed them into the center and they stuck easily, plus they made the petals look slightly more 3D.

Finally I stuck the flowers on top of the cupcakes and voila, pretty springtime cupcakes that are as beautiful as they are delicious.

I think these would be perfect for a tasty Easter treat, don’t you?

4 Responses to “Springtime Lemon Lime Cupcakes”

  1. yumtherapy April 3, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Adorable cupcakes! I hope your friend liked them (how could she not?)!

    • koothoot April 4, 2011 at 2:47 am #

      Thank you! She seemed to love them…

  2. Jenine April 11, 2011 at 3:15 am #

    I DID love them!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pshh It’s My Birfday « - April 23, 2011

    […] Pretty much every year my friend Jenine and I make each other cake or cupcakes (you may remember these from her birthday a month ago) and this year she is making me a very special kind of cupcake- […]

Leave a Reply

